Colourful Handmade Crochet Cushion.

I have been having fun this week testing out lots of different crochet stitches from a vintage How To Crochet Book, then adapting them to suit my style.

Image

As you can see from the picture I started with a basic crochet background which is great for weaving in various materials to give a more solid material. I chose to weave vintage fabric into the centre with a couple of rows woven with 4 strands of wool, I also added the mesh style stitch to the edge of the cushion and wove in contrasting wool.

Image

I really enjoyed doing the bobble stitch with lots of different colours and will be using this in quite a few designs.

Image

The raised stitch is also fun to do and I love the squiggly effect. There is also puff stitch and cable (which I did with 2 colours).

It goes very well in my new crochet corner..a perfect place to sit with crochet hook in hand and a basket of wool by my side.ย 

Image

I am now working on some wrist warmers for my 6 year old son, he has told me which stitches to do and which colours, and keeps asking me when they will be finished..so I think I better go and finish them.

14 comments on “Colourful Handmade Crochet Cushion.

  1. I absolutely adore your use of bright colors in not only the cushion but the room. I find that bright colors always make me so happy.

  2. Such a beautiful cushion! Do you have a pattern/some tips for making one? I’m still pretty new when it comes to crochet.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nanna

Leave a Reply

